Archive for March, 2013

Mifflin County Sending 11, Juniata 3 to PAJW States

| March 20, 2013 | 0 Comments

Mifflin County came through regional tournament action in Philipsburg with 11 grapplers heading to the Farm Show Arena in Harrisburg for the Pennsylvania Junior Wrestling State Championships. Juniata County pushed three into the championships.

Action takes place this Friday and Saturday. Check back here for live updates of all the Mifflin County wrestlers.

Below are the 14 heading to states with their regional place finish.


8 and Under:

80: Anson Wagner, 2nd

10 and Under:

55: Nic Allison, 2nd
80: Brycen Hassinger, 2nd
85: Trey Kibe, 1st
120: Ryan Bailey, 1st

11 and 12:

65: Christian Fisher, 1st
75: Clayton Wolfgang, 2nd
80: Caleb Dowling, 2nd (Juniata)
85: Tyler Wileman, 2nd (Juniata)
135: Drayson Sullivan, 1st

13 and 14

102: Greg Wert, 1st
107: Trent Hidlay, 1st
140: Quentin Milliken, 1st
212: Nate Foltz, 2nd (Juniata)

Thanks to Jennifer Johnson for sending the results.

Hidlay First Freshman to Win Tate Award

| March 15, 2013 | 0 Comments
Mifflin County's Hayden Hidlay looks to score against Erie Prep's Jake Gromacki at the NW Regionals.

                                                                                                                                    Photo by Tim Shumaker
Mifflin County’s Hayden Hidlay looks to score against Erie Prep’s Jake Gromacki at the NW Regionals.             

Mifflin County’s Hayden Hidlay became the first freshman to win the Rod Tate Memorial Award when he was voted the most outstanding wrestler of the 2012-13 season last night at the Husky Gymnasium.

Hidlay finished the season with a 28-7 mark, a District 6 Class AAA championship at 113 pounds, and a berth in the PIAA state championships after a second-place finish at the Northwest Regional Tournament.

Below is a list of the previous Tate Award winners.

R O D     T A T E     M E M O R I A L     W R E S T L I N G     A W A R D
Y E A R N A M E   –  GRADE  –   S C H O O L   –   WT.  CLASS
1979 (tie)  Joe  Heller   (Sr.),    Chief  Logan             105#
(tie)  Ken  Whitsel   (Sr.),    Lewistown             112#
1980 Lew  Copenhaver   (Sr.),    Chief  Logan            138#
1981 Warren  Stewart   (Sr.),    Lewistown               132#
1982 George  Snook   (Jr.),    Lewistown                  105#
1983 George  Snook   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 126#
1984 Mike  Robinson   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 138#
1985 Troy  Hartsock   (Sr.),    Chief  Logan               155#
1986 Mark  Shafranich   (Sr.),    Kishacoquillas           145#
1987 Mike  Lightner   (Jr.),    Lewistown                    119#
1988 Joe  Daubert   (Jr.),    Chief  Logan                  HWT.
1989 Joe  Daubert   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley                 275#
1990 Rob  Ruby   (Jr.),    Indian  Valley                    130#
1991 Rob  Ruby   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley                   135#
1992 Denny  Osborne   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 189#
1993 Larry  Collins   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley                 130#
1994 Matt  Sheetz   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley                 145#
1995 Jeremy  Hoy   (Sr.),    Lewistown                    171#
1996 Brock  Hite   (So.),    Indian  Valley                 103#
1997 Brock  Hite   (Jr.),    Indian  Valley                  103#
1998 Barry Osborne   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 189#
1999 Andrew  Curry   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 145#
2000 Noah  Miller   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 140# / 145#
2001 Justin  Hower   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 171#
2002 Nathan  Smith   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley             152#
2003 Andrew  Winters   (Jr.),    Indian  Valley            103#
2004 Matt  Shank   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley             135# / 140#
2005 Nic  Bedelyon   (So.),    Indian  Valley             103#
2006 Matt  Bonson   (Jr.),    Lewistown             119#
2007 Nic  Bedelyon   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley             119#
2008 Matt  Snyder   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 119#
2009 Tye  Boyer   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley             140#
2010 Colton  Spade   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 160#
2011 Kaleb  Loht   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley                  125#
2012 Tyson  Searer   (Sr.),    Mifflin  County              220#
2013 Hayden  Hidlay   (Fr.),    Mifflin  County             113#

A Hearty Thank You

| March 11, 2013 | 0 Comments

The high school wrestling season has come to a close and I wanted to send each and every one of you who came and supported the site a giant thank you. grew much faster than I thought it would, we are averaging over 400 people a day on the site and for that I am truly grateful.

Next season will be even better. As I’ve told many people before, I started this website on the fly right after Thanksgiving. It was a spur of the moment decision without much planning.

The first year results are great and it’s only going to get bigger and better.

In the works for 2013-14 will be a weekly wrestling podcast/radio show, more video, pictures, interviews and various multi-media projects. So stay tuned for some good stuff coming down the pike.

I want to thank Eric Specht for all he’s done sending the youth wrestling results, as  well as Mark Cavanaugh and all the great coaches on the Junior High. I also can’t forget to thank Kirby Martin, his staff, Matt Shoemaker and all the varsity wrestlers for a great year and accepting me back into the wrestling community after a long time away.

Wrestling is a year-round sport now and this site is far from done. We still have MAWA, PAJW, and the freestyle season to look forward to. So come back here often for updates throughout the spring and summer.

And don’t forget, this site is for every wrestling fan out there. If you have any results, suggestions to make the site better or story ideas, please send them to me and I will do my best to implement them.

Thanks again for supporting


Mifflin County PIAA Results

| March 7, 2013 | 2 Comments


113: Hayden Hidlay, Mifflin County won by forfeit Austin Camacci, Central Dauphin
220: Thomas Haines, Solanco tech fall Kyle Kahley, Mifflin County, 16-0 (3:17)

First Round Consolations:

220: Alex Campbell, Canon-McMillan pinned Kyle Kahley, Mifflin County, 2:37 (Kahley eliminated)


113: Zack Fuentes, Norristown dec. Hayden Hidlay, Mifflin County, 7-3

Second Round Consolations:

113: Dom Forys, North Allegheny dec. Hayden Hidlay, Mifflin County, 7-2 (Hidlay eliminated)

Youth Wrestlers Compete at Mid-Atlantic District Tournament

| March 7, 2013 | 0 Comments

Eight Mifflin County Elementary wrestlers participated in the Mid-Atlantic Wrestling Association’s (MAWA) district wrestling tournament on Saturday, March 2nd, at Cumberland Valley High School. Wrestler’s finishing 3rd or higher advanced to the Mid-Atlantic Regional tournament at Shippensburg University on March 29th.

7 & Under

Brennan Specht (IV) – 3rd Place
Kamden Everly (IV) – DNP

9 & Under

Kyler Everly (IV) – 1st Place
Lucas Sheetz (IV) – 3rd Place
Nicholas Allison (Siglerville) – 1st Place
Rylan Baily (IV) – 1st Place
Trey Kibe (Siglerville) – 1st Place

11 & Under

Blaine Davis (Siglerville) – 1st Place