Archive for April, 2013

Special Recognition – Mifflin County HS History

| April 30, 2013 | 0 Comments

S  P  E  C  I  A  L     R  E  C  O  G  N  I  T  I  O  N  

2 0 1 2

Bill  Shafranich  was  voted  the  District  6 – AAA  Junior  High  Coach  of  the  Year.


2 0 1 3

 On  February  2nd,  Huskies  beat  Central  Mountain  to  become  the  first  school  based  within Mifflin  County  to  ever  win  a  District  6  duals  championship  and  advance  to  the  state  team duals.

On  February  23  at  the  District  6 – AAA  individual  championships,  the  Huskies  became  the  first  team  from  the  county  on  the  AAA  level  to  with  the  tournament  title.

When  Hayden  Hidlay,  Noah  Stewart  and  Brandon  Wilson  all  won  gold  medals,  they  became the  first – ever  trio  of  freshmen  to  win  district  titles  from  the  same  school  in  the  history  of  the  tournament  which  began  back  in  1938.

Head  coach  Kirby  Martin  was  voted  the  Class  AAA  Coach  of  the  Year.    Martin,  along with  his  staff  of  Dale  Searer,  Joe  Eckenroth,  Adam  Stout  and  student  teaching  volunteer coach  Kyle  Bove  were  voted  District  6 – AAA  Staff  of  the  Year.

Bill  Shafranich  was  again  voted  the  AAA  Junior  High  Coach  of  the  Year.    The  team compiled  a  24 – 1  dual  meet  record.    Later,  Bill  was  voted  the  State,  Class  AAA  Junior  High Coach  of  the  Year.



Four County Wrestlers Place at Ohio Tournament of Champions

| April 25, 2013 | 0 Comments

Four Mifflin County grapplers placed in the top eight of their respective divisions at the Ohio Valley Tournament of Champions last weekend.

Hunter Johnson (48) and Nic Allison (52) finished fifth in the Midget Division, while Andrew Wert (105) took fifth in the School Boy Division.

In the Elite Division, Joe Knarr, the District 6 Class AAA runner up and NW Regional fourth placer at 152 this past season, took seventh at 160 pounds.


Four Huskies on Mid-Penn All-Star Team; Powerade on Tap Next Season

| April 19, 2013 | 0 Comments

Four Mifflin County wrestlers were selected to the 2012-13 Mid-Penn Conference Commonwealth Division All-Star team.

Isaac Underhill was a first-team All-Star at 120 pounds, while Hayden Hidlay (113), Noah Stewart (126) and Caleb Rhodes (285) were picked for second-team honors.

Underhill led the Huskies with 34 wins this season and was fourth at the Northwest Regionals; Hidlay was a district champion and regional runnerup as a freshman, while Stewart was a district champion as a freshman.

In other news, it has been confirmed that Mifflin County will participate in the Powerade tournament next season. The Powerade is considered one of the top three high school tournaments in the county, along with the Ironman and the Beast of the East. To make room  for the Powerade event, the Huskies dropped the Conestoga Valley tournament.

This is a big step up in competition for coach Kirby Martin and the boys, but one that should pay big dividends come post-season time.

Another  pleasant  surprise,  it  was  mentioned  that  Bill Shafranich  was  voted  that  State  AAA Junior  High  Coach of  the  Year. Bill and the entire coaching staff deserve this award for the accomplishments the Husky junior high squad has achieved in the past two seasons.

Below are the 2012-13 Mid-Penn Commonwealth All-Stars:


                         MID PENN CONFERENCE WRESTLING
                                      DIVISION ALL STARS
106 10 Zach Elvin Central Dauphin
113 12 Tanner Shoap Chambersburg
120 10 Isaac Underhill Mifflin County
126 10 David Rump Chambersburg
132 10 Patrick Duggan Cumberland Valley
138 12 Tyson Dippery Central Dauphin
145 11 Ian Shannon Carlisle
152 11 TC Warner Cumberland Valley
160 11 Garrett Peppelman Central Dauphin
170 12 Colton Peppelman Central Dauphin
182 12 Terrence Parsons Central Dauphin
195 12 Dietrick Ferster Central Dauphin
220 11 Hasan Alic Carlisle
285 12 Mike Ferster Central Dauphin
106 9 Collin Runshaw Chambersburg
113 9 Hayden Hidlay Mifflin County
120 9 Garrett Kyner Chambersburg
126 9 Noah Stewart Mifflin County
132 12 Zach Bentz Central Dauphin
138 11 Alex Wolfe Cumberland Valley
145 9 Felix Belga Cumberland Valley
152 12 Austin Rose Central Dauphin
160 11 Brandon Rudy Cumberland Valley
170 12 Austin Trephan Central Dauphin East
182 12 Matt Hoare Cumberland Valley
195 11 Lemar Isom Harrisburg
220 11 Andrew Brown Harrisburg
285 12 Caleb Rhodes Mifflin County
11 Quinn Paynter Carlisle

Milestone Dual Meets/Post Season Team Placings – Mifflin County HS

| April 19, 2013 | 0 Comments


T  E  A  M     P  L  A  C  I  N  G  S     I  N     P  O  S  T     S  E  A  S  O  N     T  O  U  R  N  A  M  E  N  T  S
2012 14 6th  of  10      129.5   points 9th  of  31      48   points 38th (tie)  of  116    14  points
2013 14 FIRST  of  9      198.5   points 4th  of  34      89   points 67th (tie)  of  110    4  points