Archive for May, 2014

Dark Knights Reach Semis of Flo Duals; Hidlay Goes 3-0

| May 18, 2014 | 0 Comments

The Dark Knights (Pennsylvania) wrestling club went 3-0 on the day to earn a berth in the semifinals of the Pop & Flo National Duals at Lake Placid, New York on Saturday.

Mifflin County’s Hayden Hidlay, a member of the Dark Knights, went 3-0 at 145 pounds.

The Dark Knights opened with a 50-9 victory over 631 Elite Black (New York) with Hidlay getting a 6-1 decision over James Matias.

In the second round, the Dark Knights pasted Apex II (New Jersey) by a 70-3 score with Hidlay decking  Shab Sosinsky in 2:53.

The Dark Knights earned its spot in the semis with a 33-22 quarterfinal victory over the Scarlet Knights (New Jersey) with Hidlay gaining an 11-4 decision over state qualifier Alex Murray.

Hidlay and his teammates meet Apex I (New Jersey) in the semifinals today.


Hidlay Competing in Pop & Flo National Duals

| May 17, 2014 | 0 Comments

Mifflin County’s own Hayden Hidlay continues his spring/summer wrestling by competing for the Dark Knights at the Pop and Flo National Duals at the Olympic Center in Lake Placid, New York this weekend.

Hidlay is wrestling at 145 pounds. There will be 32 teams competing on eight mats.  I will have updates posted throughout the weekend.

Hidlay Makes Latest FloRankings

| May 15, 2014 | 0 Comments

The latest FloRankings was released with graduating seniors removed and Mifflin County’s Hayden Hidlay made the list of nationally ranked wrestlers.

The Husky sophomore, who sports a 66-12 career record in two seasons,  is ranked 16th in the nation at 138 pounds.

Iowa’s Fredy Stoker mans the top spot at 138 with Michael Kemerer (Franklin Regional) at No. 2 and Patrick Duggan of Cumberland Valley holding down the third spot. Kaleb Young of Punxsutawney is rated 12th.

Aaron Pico of California is ranked first in the overall pound-for-pound category with freshman state champ Spencer Lee (Franklin Regional) ranked third.


Hidlay Wins Second Rod Tate Award

| May 13, 2014 | 0 Comments

(Editor’s note: There was supposed to be an accompanying video to the story but since I am a complete video idiot most of the time I thought I was recording Hayden when I wasn’t, hence no video.)

Mifflin County’s Hayden Hidlay has accomplished more in two years than most high school wrestlers have in a career.

The sophomore owns a 66-12 career record with two District 6 championships, a Northwest Regional crown and this year, a sixth-place medal at the PIAA championships. He also has numerous medals and trophies competing in Freestyle and Greco-Roman during the summer.

Add to that his second Rod Tate Award in as many years and you can see how successful Hayden’s been in a short period of time. Hidlay received the Tate Award Thursday night at Mifflin County High School.

“It’s a great honor to receive this award. I look back at all the people who won this and I’ve always looked up to those people like Nic Bedelyon, Matt Bonson and Ken Whitsel. It’s a good feeling,” Hidlay said.

Hidlay is the first two-time winner of the Tate Award since Bedelyon won it in 2005 and 2007. No one has ever won the award three times.

“We like to joke around in the room and keep it competitive. I couldn’t get to where I am without all the hard work I’ve put in and the support of my teammates,” Hidlay stated. “We battle it out every day in the room and that’s a good upside to it.

“I had a lot of fun this season, it was one of the best seasons I’ve had in my life. I look back on it and I didn’t accomplish exactly what I wanted at states, but I did good. It just gives me fuel for next season to do better.”

Noah Stewart, district champion and state qualifier, came in second in the voting, while Timmy Pearce, also a district champ and state qualifier, came in third. Stewart finished the season with a 34-10 record. Pearce ended his senior season at 33-10.

The Rod Tate Award is given out annually by Merf Radio to Mifflin County’s top wrestler. The award is voted on by local sports media, including The Sentinel. The award is named after the late Rod Tate, the first state champion wrestler from Mifflin County.


R O D     T A T E     M E M O R I A L     W R E S T L I N G     A W A R D
Y E A R N A M E   –  GRADE  –   S C H O O L   –   WT.  CLASS
1979 (tie)  Joe  Heller   (Sr.),    Chief  Logan             105#
(tie)  Ken  Whitsel   (Sr.),    Lewistown             112#
1980 Lew  Copenhaver   (Sr.),    Chief  Logan            138#
1981 Warren  Stewart   (Sr.),    Lewistown               132#
1982 George  Snook   (Jr.),    Lewistown                  105#
1983 George  Snook   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 126#
1984 Mike  Robinson   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 138#
1985 Troy  Hartsock   (Sr.),    Chief  Logan               155#
1986 Mark  Shafranich   (Sr.),    Kishacoquillas           145#
1987 Mike  Lightner   (Jr.),    Lewistown                    119#
1988 Joe  Daubert   (Jr.),    Chief  Logan                  HWT.
1989 Joe  Daubert   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley                 275#
1990 Rob  Ruby   (Jr.),    Indian  Valley                    130#
1991 Rob  Ruby   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley                   135#
1992 Denny  Osborne   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 189#
1993 Larry  Collins   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley                 130#
1994 Matt  Sheetz   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley                 145#
1995 Jeremy  Hoy   (Sr.),    Lewistown                    171#
1996 Brock  Hite   (So.),    Indian  Valley                 103#
1997 Brock  Hite   (Jr.),    Indian  Valley                  103#
1998 Barry Osborne   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 189#
1999 Andrew  Curry   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 145#
2000 Noah  Miller   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 140# / 145#
2001 Justin  Hower   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 171#
2002 Nathan  Smith   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley             152#
2003 Andrew  Winters   (Jr.),    Indian  Valley            103#
2004 Matt  Shank   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley             135# / 140#
2005 Nic  Bedelyon   (So.),    Indian  Valley             103#
2006 Matt  Bonson   (Jr.),    Lewistown             119#
2007 Nic  Bedelyon   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley             119#
2008 Matt  Snyder   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 119#
2009 Tye  Boyer   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley             140#
2010 Colton  Spade   (Sr.),    Lewistown                 160#
2011 Kaleb  Loht   (Sr.),    Indian  Valley                  125#
2012 Tyson  Searer   (Sr.),    Mifflin  County              220#
2013 Hayden  Hidlay   (Fr.),    Mifflin  County             113#
2014  Hayden Hidlay (So.), Mifflin County                 138#

Allison Wins MAWA Eastern National Title

| May 5, 2014 | 0 Comments

Mifflin County’s Nic Allison captured the MAWA Eastern National championship this past weekend in Salisbury, Maryland.

Allison, a runner-up at the PJW states this year, captured the 58-pound crown in the Junior division.

Mifflin County had four other wrestlers place in the event.

Hunter Johnson (55) was second in the Midget division, Blake Aumiller (60) took fifth in Bantam, while Christian Fisher (76) and Trey Kibe (91) finished sixth in the Intermediate and Junior divisions respectively.