2017 King of the Mountain Preview

| December 15, 2017 | 0 Comments

Once again the Mifflin County wrestling team ventures to Mill Hall for the prestigious King of the Mountain tournament this Friday and Saturday at Central Mountain High School.

As usual, KOM is jam-packed with quality talent and some of the best teams the Keystone State has to offer. This year’s event features 48 state qualifiers, 25 state place winners, four PIAA runner-ups, and five PIAA champions.

Louis Newell (113) of Seneca Valley; Chase Shields (113-AA) of Bishop McDevitt; Anthony Walters (195) of Bishop McCort; and Josiah Jones (220) of McCort finished second in the state a year ago.

Returning PIAA champions participating at KOM include Justin McCoy (145) of Chestnut Ridge; Edmond Ruth (152) of Susquehanna Township; Trent Hidlay (160) of Mifflin County; Creighton Edsell (160-AA) of Wyalusing; and Cody Mulligan (182) of Saegertown.

Hidlay, Newell, Nate Smith of Bishop McDevitt, and Nick Coy of Penn Trafford are returning KOM champions.

Bald Eagle Area, Franklin Regional, Muncy, Susquehanna Township, and Warrior Run are new teams at the King for 2017.

Mifflin County (4-0), fresh off a win over Carlisle, bring Hidlay and Christian Fisher, second a year ago to Smith at 106, as KOM place winners.

Bishop McDevitt, Bishop McCort,  Chestnut Ridge and Boyertown will battle for the team crown. In addition, arguably the top three teams in District 6 Class AAA will be showcasing their talents: Mifflin County, BEA and Central Mountain.

Action gets underway at 2 p.m. on Friday.

Mifflin County Probable Lineup for KOM:

106: Andrew Weaver, Sr. (1-2)
113: Christian Fisher, Jr. (4-0)
120: Derek Burk, So. (2-2)
126: Josh Snook, Jr. (2-1)
132: Logan Wise, Sr. (4-0)
138: John Retherford, Jr. (3-1)
145: Brycen Hassinger, Fr. (3-1)
152: Trey Kibe, Fr. (4-0)
160: Cole Baker, Sr. (1-3)
170: Anthony Fultz, Sr. (2-2)
182: Trent Hidlay, Sr. (4-0)
195: Jacob Krepps, So. (3-1)
220: Kross Todaro, Sr. (3-1)
285: Bronson Smith-Price, So.  (1-2)

KOM Timetable

KOM State Qualifiers

KOM Participating Teams

Category: High School Wrestling

Leave a Reply

Sex Chat Live Jasmin WP-Clear 3.0 Theme