Archive for December, 2017

Penn State Wrestling Notes: The Southern Scuffle

| December 31, 2017 | 0 Comments

Powerade Results-Day Two: Hidlay Wins Second Title; Kibe 4th; Fisher 6th

| December 30, 2017 | 2 Comments


113: Beau Bayless, Reynolds dec. Christian Fisher, 2-0.
152: Josh Humphreys technical fall Trey Kibe, 16-0 (5:07).
182: Trent Hidlay dec. Darrien Roberts, Wyoming Seminary, 5-3.

Consolation Semifinals

113: Ian Oswalt, Burrell dec. Christian Fisher, 2-1.
152: Trey Kibe dec. Benny Baker, Wyoming Seminary, 1-0.


182: Trent Hidlay dec. Tim Wallace, Albert Gallatin, 7-4.

Third Place

152: Brock Godzin, Belle Vernon dec. Trey Kibe, 2-0 SV.

Fifth Place

113: Nic Botello, Wyoming Seminary dec. Christian Fisher, 2-1.

Mifflin County Records

106: Andrew Weaver (0-2)
113: Christian Fisher (4-3) 6th
120: Derek Burk (0-2)
126: Josh Snook (0-2)
132: Logan Wise (1-2)
138: John Retherford (1-2)
145: Brycen Hassinger (0-2)
152: Trey Kibe (4-2) 4th
160: Cole Baker (0-2)
170: No Entry
182: Trent Hidlay (6-0) 1st
195: Jacob Krepps (0-2)
220: Kross Todaro (2-2)
285: Bronson Price-Smith (1-2)

Powerade Results-Day One: Huskies Push Three Into Semifinals

| December 29, 2017 | 0 Comments

Christian Fisher (113), Trey Kibe (152) and Trent Hidlay (182) made it into the semifinals. Logan Wise (132), Jacob Krepps (195), Kross Todaro (220) and Bronson Price-Smith (285) were eliminated in consolations. Mifflin County is 17th in the team standings with 67.5 points.

First Round

106: Andrew Weaver, bye.
113: Christian Fisher pinned Griffin Kane, NY, 1:31.
120: Derek Burk, bye.
126: Josh Snook, bye.
132: Logan Wise, bye.
138: John Retherford, bye.
145: Brycen Hassinger, bye.
152: Trey Kibe, bye.
160: Cole Baker, bye.
170: No entry.
182: Trent Hidlay pinned Nathan Taylor, Brookville, 4:21.
195: Jeremy Nutt, NJ dec. Jacob Krepps, 7-3.
220: Kross Todaro, bye.
285: Nathan Hoagland, Mt. Lebanon dec. Bronson Price-Smith, 8-2.

Second Round

106: Kyle Burkholder, Hempfield pinned Andrew Weaver, 1:11.
113: Christian Fisher pinned Brandon Gaus, Saegertown, :41.
120: Cameron Enriquez, Stroudsburg major dec. Derek Burk, 17-2.
126: Gavin Teasdale, Jefferson-Morgan pinned Josh Snook, :22.
132: Logan Wise, dec. Antonio Amelio, Seneca Valley, 2-1.
138: Noah Levitt, Kiski Area major dec. John Retherford, 14-0.
145: Job Chishko, Penn Trafford pinned Brycen Hassinger, :46.
152: Trey Kibe pinned Cameron Monzadeh, FL, 3:17.
160: Grant Barr, DuBois pinned Cole Baker, 2:46.
182: Trent Hidlay pinned Miachael Pilot, NJ, 3:31.
220: Kross Todaro pinned Ryan Long, NY, :38.

Third Round

113: Christian Fisher dec. Giani Martini, Trinty, 5-4.
132: Caleb Morris, Waynesburg pinned Logan Wise, 3:27.
152: Trey Kibe dec. Caleb Hetrick, Brookville, 5-3.
182: Trent Hidlay pinned Caleb Schans, Montoursville, 2:52.
220: Cameron Wood, Montoursville pinned Kross Todaro, 4:29.


113: Christian Fisher dec. Nic Botello, Wyoming Seminary, 5-4.
152: Trey Kibe dec. Cooper Kropman, NY, 10-6.
182: Trent Hidlay dec. Max Hale, Downingtown West, 21-6.

Consolation Pigtails

106: Justin Walters, Trinity pinned Andrew Weaver, 3:22. (Weaver eliminated)
120: Trent Bechtold, Burrell dec. Derek Burk, 8-4 (Burk eliminated)
126: Nick Boyce, Pope John Paul II pinned Josh Snook, 3:00 (Snook eliminated)
138: John Retherford dec. Tony Zona, Penn Trafford, 3-1.
145: Zach Collins, WV pinned Brycen Hassinger, :39. (Hassinger eliminated)
160: Jimmy O’Neill, Franklin Regional pinned Cole Baker, 2:55 (Baker eliminated)
195: Jacob Krepps, bye.

Consolation First Round

138: Ethan Awes, Burrell dec. John Retherford, 10-3. (Retherford eliminated)
195: Jacob Krepps pinned Riley O’Mara, Bethel Park, 1:59.
285: Bronson Smith-Price pinned Sennaca Harney, Moon, 4:53.

Consolation Second Round

132: Nick Dintino, MD dec. Logan Wise, 3-2. (Wise eliminated)
195: Justin Cramer, Hempfield dec. Jacob Krepps, 3-2. (Krepps elminated)
220: Kross Todaro pinned Nick Funovits, Seneca Valley, 2:15.
285: Sami Khamis, Stroudsburg pinned Bronson Smith-Price, 4:10. (Smith-Price eliminated)

Consolation Third Round

220: Duane Knisely, Chestnut Ridge dec. Kross Todaro, 5-0. (Todaro eliminated)


113: Christian Fisher vs. Beau Bayless, Reynolds
152: Trey Kibe vs. Josh Humphrys, West Virginia
182: Trent Hidlay vs. Darrien Roberts, Wyoming Seminary

Powerade Seeds: Hidlay One, Fisher Fifth

| December 28, 2017 | 0 Comments

The seeds for Powerade were released with Trent Hidlay and Christian Fisher seeded at their respective weights.

Hidlay is seeded first at 182 pounds with Class AA state champ Cody Mulligan seeded second. Hidlay defeated Sullivan 3-2 at King of the Mountain. Also in the weight class is Tim Wallace of Albert Gallatin, third in the PIAA a year ago, and Maryland state champ Jack Parr.

Fisher holds down the fifth seed at 113 behind top seed Kurt McHenry of Maryland. AA-106 pound state champ Beau Bayless of Reynolds is the second seed, followed by Ryan Sullivan of Shaler and Frankie Bonura of Moon.

Hilday comes into the event riding a 48-match winning streak and the No. 1 ranking in the state at 182 pounds. He is a two-time Powerade finalist and a returning champion. Other state-ranked Huskies include Fisher, second at 113, and freshman Trey Kibe, 18th at 152 pounds.

Action gets underway tomorrow at 8:15 a.m.

Mount Union Wrestling Closing in on Milestone

| December 26, 2017 | 0 Comments

I know this site is about Mifflin County wrestling with a little bit of Penn State thrown in, but the Mount Union wrestling program is closing in on 600 wins and they are doing something really cool Wednesday night to celebrate. This is from Jeff Fishbein of the Lewistown Sentinel:

MOUNT UNION — Friday’s win at Moshannon Valley was one shy of a milestone for the Mount Union wrestling program,

The victory was No. 599 for the program, which has the opportunity to get its 600th win as a program Wednesday when the Trojans host Claysburg-Kimmel.

Mount Union’s goal is to pack the house and fill the shelves at the food pantry by asking fans to bring one or more non-perishable food items to the match to be donated. The goal is to get 600 food items as part of the drive.

Anyone who brings at least two items of food will get a little something to eat of their own — a free hot dog from the concession stand.

Donors also will be entered into a drawing for gift cards. That drawing will be held during the varsity wrestling match, which will be split with an intermission, college style.

Also, after the junior high match, which begins at 6 p.m., Mount Union’s school hall of fame induction will take place. All former Mount Union wrestlers receive free admission to the match.