King of the Mountain Preview

| December 12, 2013 | 0 Comments

The Mifflin County wrestling team takes a big step up in competition this Friday and Saturday at the King of the Mountain tournament at Central Mountain high school.

Last season, Hayden Hidlay finished second to Parkland’s Ethan Lizak in the 113-pound finals, while Isaac Underhill placed seventh at 120.

The Huskies were 19th in the team race in 2012. Bethlehem Catholic, three-time AA state champs, won the team crown with 177.5 points.

KOM is one of the toughest in season tournaments, not only in the state, but the entire country.

How tough is the KOM?

There are nine wrestlers currently ranked first in the state and eight who are rated second who will be at KOM. A grand total of 109 wrestlers at KOM are in the Preseason state rankings, 64 in Class AAA and 45 in AA.

Check out more facts from this year’s event.

Ranked Teams:

Class AAA (8)
Parkland No. 2
Boyertown No. 4
Greater Latrobe No. 5
Cumberland Valley No. 8
General McLane No. 12
Erie McDowell No. 15
Hempfield Area No. 17
Mifflin County No. 25

Class AA (6)
Bethlehem Catholic No. 1
Boiling Springs No. 2
Fort LeBoeuf No. 5
Redbank Valley No. 13
Bedford No. 15
Burrell No. 19

State Champions (5)
Ethan Lizak – Parkland
Luke Pletcher – Greater Latrobe
Sam Krivus – Hempfield Area
Jason Nolf – Kittanning
Nazar Mironenko – Mifflinburg (2012 champ)

State Runnerups (6)
T.C. Warner – Cumberland Valley
Patrick Duggan – Cumberland Valley
Jordan Wood – Boyertown
Luke Karam – Bethlehem Catholic
Zeke Moisey – Bethlehem Catholic
Ryan Easter – Bedford

Wrestlers currently ranked No. 1
Ethan Lizak – Parkland (113-AAA)
Luke Pletcher – Greater Latrobe (120-AAA)
Sam Krivus – Hempfield Area (132-AAA)
Zack Zavatsky – Greater Latrobe (182-AAA)
Luke Karam – Bethlehem Catholic (106-AA)
Zeke Moisey – Bethlehem Catholic (126-AA)
Kyle Shoop – Boiling Spirngs (132-AA)
Jason Nolf – Kittanning (138-AA)
Cole Walter – Mifflinburg (152-AA)

The King of the Mountain is brutal, but it will make the younger Husky wrestlers much tougher when the postseason rolls around.

Teams in the KOM:


1.  Bedford

2.  Bellefonte

3.  *Benton

4.  #Bethlehem Catholic

5.  Biglerville

6.  Boiling Springs

7.  Boyertown

8.  *Burrell

9.  *Calvary Christian Academy

10.  Central Mountain

11.  Council Rock South

12.  Cumberland Valley

13.  DuBois

14.  McDowell

15.  Fort LeBoeuf

16.  General McLane


17.  Greater Latrobe

18.  *Hempfield Area

19.  Jersey Shore

20.  Kittanning

21.  Lansing, NY

22.  Line Mountain

23.  Mifflinburg

24.  Mifflin County

25.  *North Penn (Lansdale)

26.  Parkland

27.  Penn Trafford

28.  *Penns Valley

29.  Redbank Valley

30.  *Schuylkill Valley

31.  South Western

32.  *Spring Grove

33.  Stroudsburg

# Defending team champ
* New teams in the tournament

Category: High School Wrestling

Leave a Reply