Taylor Named Intermat 2014 Wrestler of the Year

| March 29, 2014 | 0 Comments

Penn State’s two-time NCAA champion David Taylor has been named Intermat Wrestler of the year for the 2014 season.

The award, presented each year since 2006 to the best college wrestler in all divisions, is based on the balloting of writers and executives at InterMatWrestle.com.

Taylor was the unanimous choice of InterMat voters, receiving all 10 first-place ballots for a total of 90 votes. Ohio State’s Logan Stieber — 2014 NCAA 141-pound champ — placed second in the balloting, with 48 points. Just one point behind Stieber was Taylor’s teammate Ed Ruth — 2014 NCAA 184-pound champ, and 2012 InterMat Wrestler of the Year — with 47 votes. Oklahoma State’s Chris Perry — who successfully defended his 174-pound title — placed fourth overall in the voting, with 29 votes.True freshman NCAA champ J’den Cox of Missouri, was fifth in the voting with eight points.

Taylor was a four-time Ohio state champ at St. Paris Graham High who then headed east to Penn State, where he crafted one of the all-time great records in more than a century of Nittany Lion wrestling.

In his senior season, Taylor compiled a flawless 34-0 record, with 16 pins, eight technical falls, and eight major-decision victories. He concluded his final year as a Nittany Lion by winning his fourth Big Ten title, and his second NCAA title, shutting out Oklahoma State’s Tyler Caldwell to win the 165 crown at the 2014 NCAAs to go with his championship won in 2012.

In addition, Taylor was named the tournament’s Outstanding Wrestler, along with Most Dominant Wrestler honors for the 2014 season. Taylor concluded his Penn State career with a 134-3 record, putting bonus points on the board in 125 of those wins.

2014 InterMat Wrestler of the Year
1st-5th-Place Votes: 9-7-5-3-1
Total Votes/(First-Place Votes)

1. David Taylor, Penn State 90 (10)
2. Logan Stieber, Ohio State 48
3. Ed Ruth Penn State 47
4. Chris Perry, Oklahoma State 29
5. J’den Cox, Missouri 8
6. Alex Dieringer, Oklahoma State 6
7. Nick Gwiazdowski, NC State 5
T8. Joey Davis, Notre Dame 4
T8. Jesse Delgado, Illinois 4
T8. Tony Ramos, Iowa 4
11. Victoria Anthony, Simon Fraser 3
T12. Devin Carter, Virginia Tech 1
T12. Andrew Howe, Oklahoma 1

InterMat Wrestler of the Year Winners

2014: David Taylor, Penn State
2013: Kyle Dake, Cornell
2012: Ed Ruth, Penn State
2011: Jordan Burroughs, Nebraska
2010: Jayson Ness, Minnesota
2009: Jake Herbert, Northwestern
2008: Brent Metcalf, Iowa
2007: Ben Askren, Missouri
2006: Ben Askren, Missouri

Category: College Wrestling

Leave a Reply